Top 5 Reasons I Need A New Car

Welcome back to the Friday Top 5. Today we will discuss my car, a 1998 Ford Explorer. More specifically, we’ll discuss why it is time I need a new car.

5. Check Engine Light 24/7

Seriously, I’ve had this car since August of 2008. The check engine light has been on since September of 2008. I sometimes am curious why it’s on but finding out usually causes more grief than just letting it sit there and be annoying. Last time I had it checked out, there were 6 things setting it off. 6! I’ve even seen that thing blink at me. I’m not sure if it’s starved for attention or if it there is something seriously wrong with my car. Either way its time for that light and this car to go.

4. I Spend More On Gas Than I Do On Food

That is honestly not a lie at all. I can get by right now at around $80 every two weeks for groceries and be content. I have to put $20 bucks in that thing every 2-3 days. By the time I am done with this car, I will have paid its first two years of college tuition. That’s right. My Explorer is majoring in Art History. Talk about throwing money down the drain.  It doesn’t help that I have to drive 40 minutes into the mountains 6 days a week to work. I pin the gas pedal, and literally don’t accelerate at all, probably getting about 2.1 miles to the gallon.

3. My Door Doesn’t Lock

That’s right. My driver side door doesn’t lock. For any would-be thieves out there, don’t even bother. I don’t keep anything valuable in my car any more.  You know why? Because one of you jerks already came by and swiped anything worth any value in there. Thanks again. I’m sure whatever homeless guy ganked my stuff is having a blast carrying around my 30 lb fishing tackle box.

2. The Million Tiny Problems That Continue To Multiply Every Day

I swear, when I’m not around. All of my car’s problems get drunk, hook up, and give birth to dozens of little baby problems. To name a few,

  • One of my seat belts doesn’t work
  • My rear wiper doesn’t work
  • My seat won’t lean forward any more
  • The handle on the back hatch sticks
  • My side view mirror won’t move
  • My middle console broke

Trust me, there’s more I’d love to tell you about but this is getting embarrassing.

And the number 1 reason I Need a New Car…

1. I Had To Install A Separate Switch To Turn On My Radio And It’s Killing Me!

One day before starting my cross country drive from Boston to Denver, my radio stopped working. It wasn’t getting any power and it turned out that the wiring had corroded or fell apart, or just ran away from the car. I’m not really sure but either way, I had to fix it. The only fix was to hard wire the radio directly to the battery. Problem is, if I did that it would run all the time and kill my battery so I installed a separate switch for the radio. It’s all well and good, and kind of makes me feel like a pilot when I switch it on. In fact, I’ve started saying rudders up and rudders down when I flip it on/off to really bring that pilot vibe to life.

But here’s the rub. Sometimes if I get a phone call, I do the natural thing and turn my radio down. BIG MISTAKE. Without the volume on, there’s no reminder to shut off my radio when I get out of my car. This is the reason I have, on three separate occasions, gone out to my car in the morning to go to work and found my car unable to start due to a dead battery! I’m sick and tired of having to say “rudders down,” every time I get out of my car!

Now I realize you’re probably thinking that I just sound whiney, complaining about my car and all. And… well you’re right. And I’m okay with it. If you’d like to help me with this problem and happen to have a 2012 Ford 150 that you’re selling for under $1,000, I’d love to talk to you. Hit me up!

Thanks for checking out the Friday Top 5. Keep reading and sharing!

4 responses

  1. Amy

    I’m guessing since it didn’t make the Top 5 that the smell of spoiled milk has finally gone away?

    Also, don’t allow Nikki to sit in the spot with the non-working seat belt. We know how she struggles with the working ones as it is, so a non-working one could really do her in.

    March 23, 2012 at 11:36 am

    • haha yes, that was the smelliest 6 months of my life (except for the 6 months I hung out at the Moan and Dove) but the smell finally went away.

      March 23, 2012 at 11:38 am

  2. I am waiting for the light to burn out..then the problem is solved.
    garrard.

    March 28, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • Haha I’m right there with you. It’s one more problem to add to the list but at least I won’t know about it.

      March 29, 2012 at 9:01 am

Speak your mind!

