Top 5 TGIF Shows

Welcome back to the next nstallment of the FT5. This week is a throwback, looking at the Top 5 TGIF Shows.

Honorable Mention – Hangin’ With Mr. Cooper.

This was just a great show. Mr. Cooper was funny and tall, everything you look for in a black sitcom star. The reason it didn’t make the list though is that I didn’t even think of it until it showed up in a search for TGIF shows. These, 5 on the other hand, were no-brainers.

5. Family Matters

I know most of you are probably thinking this should be higher up the list but clearly I disagree. It was a great show, boasting the character you loved to hate, Steve Urkel. It started off as a great sitcom, classic scenarios, life lessons a long the way, love stories thrown in left and right; even great side characters like Waldo Geraldo Faldo.

Then it took a sharp turn down science fiction lane when Steve Urkel turned into Stephen Urkel (different pronunciation all together) and even Bruce Lee. There’s nothing more believable than a black nerd or a blerd, becoming Bruce Lee and then beating up an entire gang, whose members, for some reason all know karate as well. That is why Family Matters landed at #5.

4. Step By Step

What do you get when you cross the Brady Bunch and the 90s? Step By Step. A great sitcom filled with some very attractive daughters and of course, the ever beautiful Susan Summers. I mean the character range on this show was amazing, from the hot tom boy, Al, to the classy, Karen, to the Beethoven Superstar, Mark.

I had a tough time deciding if this was better than Family Matters and it just came down to one name. Cody. Is there a better character than Cody in the history of TGIF? I’m not really sure, but there’s a chance that he’s #1. I mean he was hysterical, had the looks of a Roman God, owned his own home (a van parked in the backyard) and he knew karate? And to top it off, he had the best laugh in TGIF history, possibly the best ever on TV.

3. Full House

I mean, what can you say about Full House? Does it get any better? Apparently yes, since it’s only #3 on the list. This show was amazing for so many reasons. And to be honest, about 80% of the reasons are really just catch phrases. To start, we’ve got Joey Gladstone who brought us the classic. “Cut. It. Out.”

I mean, I’ve only used that phrase maybe 10 times, but those were they 10 greatest moments of, not only my life, but also the lives of the people who were around me when I did it. On top of that we’ve got Uncle Jesse’s “Have mercy!” Then D.J. Tanner’s “Oh my Lanta!” which I actually used last week for some reason and no one got it at all. Then finally, Stephanie Tanner’s critically acclaimed “How ruuuude!?”

Full House was more than just catch phrases though. That show was packed full of education. For example, who knew what a Murphy Bed was until Jesse and Becky moved into the attic? Not me! And who knew you could get amnesia from falling 5 feet from a horse? Not I! But thanks to Full House I learned all of that and more! ***corny smile and thumbs up***

2. Dinosaurs

Okay, quick side note. Up until 30 seconds ago when I was about to write this, I thought the father in Dinosaurs was played by the same actor who played Carl Winslow in Family Matters.  All these years, I’ve loved Carl for this show. Turns out its some random white guy, Stuart Pankin, who’s been in 127 different movies and TV shows. What a disappointment!

Anyway, no matter who played Early Sinclair, this show was still amazing. Dinosaurs + modern times + a sassy baby with classic catch phrases = Comedic Gold Standard. To be honest, I may be a little biased about this show. Growing up, I had a friend named Pat who had a toy doll of the baby from this show which repeated his classic lines when you pulled on his drawstring. I must’ve pulled that thing a thousand times so maybe I’m just confusing a great show with great childhood memories. But all in all, this is my blog and my list, and Dinosaurs is #2!

And the number 1 TGIF show is…

1. Boy Meets World

If you don’t think this is #1 then you can just leave right now. We don’t want your kind ’round these parts. Here are my 4 reasons this show is easily #1.

#1. Is there anything better in the world than seeing Cory Matthews (Ben Savage) with straight hair? That should seal the deal right there.

#2. Easily some of the most amazing writing and plot development television has ever witnessed. Somehow Cory, a slightly intelligent kid, Topanga, a brilliant student, Shawn, an idiot, and Eric, an even bigger idiot, all ended up at the same college. Mr. Feeney, their 6th grade teacher (season 1), becomes their high school principal (seasons 2-5), and then their college professor/dean (seasons 6,7)!  I can’t even imagine how many Emmy’s Mr. Feeney won that show.

#3. Cory’s real name is Cornelius. Say what?! (That’s more of a Did You Know, but I don’t really care)

#4. Eric was on Singled Out, one of the great television shows ever, no questions asked.

Well there you have it, a list within a list. That’s the Top 5 TGIF shows ever and there’s no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

24 responses

  1. B

    I’m appalled by Perfect Strangers not being included in this. APPALLED I TELL YOU. I am going to do the dance of joy in my cubicle, not because I am joyful, but becase I feel the need to carry on the legacy of Balki Bartakomous.

    That said, can’t argue with #1. Eric & Shawn were pretty much the hottest guys in the world to a young Brenna.

    April 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • haha first of all, since when have you shortened your name to B? And Balki! What a name! That actually does bring back some memories. Maybe that will be on my Friday Top 5, best TGIF shows based on gay, foreign roommates

      April 13, 2012 at 10:14 am

  2. Kalis

    I fully support this list. Was Sister, Sister on TGIF? I feel like it should get an honorable mention for “Go home, Roger”, sassy Jack-ay, and the remixed theme music (Shista…SHisssttaaa).

    April 13, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • haha that was a great show. I just checked and it was TGIF. If anything, it should’ve made the list just for launching Roger’s (Omarion) career to dancing stardom!

      April 13, 2012 at 10:47 am

  3. Lani

    …how on earth did DINOSAURS make this list?? That show single-handedly ruined TGIF. In fact, didnt TGIF disappear shortly after Dinosaurs made the line-up? TGIFAIL.

    April 13, 2012 at 11:27 am

    • oh settle down. Dinosaurs was a great show! It was on for 4 years. 4 year shows don’t kill TGIF. Shows like Sister Sister and Sabrina the Teenage Witch and George Lopez did that.

      April 13, 2012 at 12:18 pm

  4. Dinosaurs!!!! I’m the baby gotta love me. Ohh, what a show. TGIF was the best. BMW, Full House. Love this post. I agree Hangin with Mr Cooper was quality tv too 🙂

    April 13, 2012 at 11:57 am

    • Thank you! Finally coming to support Dinosaurs! Totally underrated.

      April 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

  5. I was always partial to Sabrina, The Teenage Witch. A sassy black cat, a portal to another world disguised as a hallway linen closet, and stereotypical hot-but-clueless boyfriend. Wasn’t a huge fan of Family Matters, but it did have the best theme song of them all.

    April 13, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    • haha that’s kind of funny becuase like 3 seconds ago I listed Sabrina as one of the shows that ruined TGIF. It was better than I gave it credit for. Yea, he definitely played that role well.

      April 13, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  6. Absolutely Boy Meets World is #1. In fact, in an all out 90s TV Show March Madness Bracket I would have it as the #1 seed overall and winning handily over Full House in the Finals (read: this needs to happen). Also, now I await your top 5 Saturday morning cartoons post.

    April 13, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    • hahah i’ll see what i can do. you know captain planet will be on there.

      April 14, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  7. I looooooooooooooooooved Step by Step. Thanks for that throwback moment.

    April 13, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    • haha anytime. such a great show

      April 14, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  8. Boy Meets World would have to be my #1 too! so many good memories growing up 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 12:20 am

    • same here, i still watch it sometimes. so good

      April 14, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  9. HA! I didn’t know anyone else even REMEMBERED Dinosaurs!!! Lmao I loved it!! =D

    April 15, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    • oh i could never forget that show!

      April 15, 2012 at 11:49 pm

  10. Oh Full House – I still watch it in re-runs all the time! I loved “Oh my lanta” and use it every once in a while – no one gets it except my close girlfriends. It’s a shame!

    April 16, 2012 at 7:44 am

    • haha i think it’s going to make a comeback, we just need to stick with it!

      April 16, 2012 at 9:31 am

  11. I remember that show!

    April 17, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    • I’d hope so! It was amazing

      April 18, 2012 at 9:17 am

  12. You can’t see it right now, but I’m giving you a standing O. I was just telling friends last week about how much I miss “Dinosaurs,” especially because Carl Winslow made such a good dino dad … minor mistake, but the thought is still there!

    And Boy Meets World reruns are on Saturdays, ABC Family. Thank you, DVR 🙂

    April 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    • haha a standing O?! That’s my first one as a blogger! Thanks so much. And I’m programming my DVR as we speak!

      April 25, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Speak your mind!

